Sheet Metal & Air Conditioning Contractors’ National Association


Sellers Headlines Newly Elected SMART International Leadership Team

Aug 15, 2019

Joseph Sellers 600x451SMACNA would like to congratulate Joseph Sellers, Jr. for being re-elected as SMART’s General President, and Joseph Powell for being elected as General Secretary-Treasurer during the SMART National Convention this week in Las Vegas. Further, we would also like to extend a congratulations to the newly-elected international leadership team that were also elected earlier this week.

Sellers, from SMART Local 19 in Philadelphia, initially became SMART’s General President in 2015, after he had served as 11th General Vice President from 2009-11, and the General Secretary-Treasurer from 2011-15. He is best known for setting up programs to provide better representation for a more diverse workforce and preparing the Union for a new era of technology and how it will affect the sheet metal industry in the coming years.

Joseph Sellers  Jr and Joseph Powell 480x320

Powell, from SMART Local 206 in San Diego, succeeds retiring Richard McClees as General Secretary-Treasurer. Powell served on the SMART General Executive Council starting in 2012, and then became Assistant to the General President in 2015. He is a strong believer and proponent of training and education to remain in front of a frequently changing sheet metal industry.

Sellers, Powell and all the General Vice Presidents listed below ran unopposed and all were unanimously elected by the Convention Delegates. The following SMART Officers and Building Trades’ GEC Representatives join the Transportation GEC representatives elected earlier in the week.

General President – Joseph Sellers, Jr. (SMART Local 19, Philadelphia, PA)

General Secretary-Treasurer – Joseph Powell (SMART Local 206, San Diego, CA)

Building Trades General Vice Presidents:

1st General Vice President – Ronald Whatley (SMART Local 85, Georgia)

2nd General Vice President – Derek Evans (SMART Local 540, Ontario, Canada)

3rd General Vice President – John Helak (SMART Local 71, Buffalo, NY)

4th General Vice President – Arthur B. Tolentino (SMART Local 293, Hawaii)

5th General Vice President – Gary Masino (SMART Local 19, Philadelphia, PA)

6th General Vice President – Rick Werner (SMART Local 104, San Francisco, CA)

7th General Vice President – Chris Griffey (SMART Local 5, Knoxville, TN)

8th General Vice President – James Paquette (SMART Local 280, Vancouver, BC)

9th General Vice President – Luther Medina (SMART Local 105, Los Angeles, CA)

10th General Vice President – Timothy Carter (SMART Local 66, Seattle, WA)

11th General Vice President – Scott Parks (SMART Local 20, Indianapolis, IN)