Safety Award Program

The 2023 Safety Exellence Awards are no longer accepting applications. Please check back in early 2024 for next year's application window.


Each year SMACNA conducts a Safety Excellence Awards Program (SSEAP) to recognize SMACNA members with the lowest injury/illness rates during the prior calendar year. Awards are presented to participating contractors with the lowest injury/illness incident rate (as computed using the OSHA incident rate formula). There are various award categories based upon a contractor’s hours worked. Information submitted for the program provides a rich database for evaluating sheet metal and HVAC industry safety performance. In addition, contractors participating in the awards program are provided with information to permit them to compare their own safety performance with other similar size contractors and those performing similar types of work. The Safety Excellence Awards Program also profiles many aspects of SMACNA members’ safety efforts. Information has been gathered on the prevalence and characteristics of safety programs and training and their impact on contractor safety performance.

Overall Incident Rate with total hours worked per category

  • 1st Place
  • 2nd Place
  • 3rd Place

Categories include:

  • Less than 25,000 manhours
  • 25,000 – 50,000 manhours
  • 50,000 – 100,000 manhours
  • 100,000 – 200,000 manhours
  • 200,000 – 300,000 manhours
  • 300,000 – 400,000 manhours
  • 400,000 – 500,000 manhours
  • Over 500,000 manhours


  • 1st Place
  • 2nd Place
  • 3rd Place